We are upgrading from SP5 to SP6 tomorrow. The Create Announcement page has changed with regards to sending the announcement as an email and the functionality is unclear.
In SP5 the checkbox says:
Override User Notification Settings Send Email to all users even those that choose not to receive Announcement notifications through email.
In SP6 the checkbox says:
Send a copy of this announcement immediatelyStudents are still notified of this announcement even if this option is not selected
Are these two different behaviors or are they both overriding notification settings?? The SP6 message sounds like it will send an email to everyone right away, rather than waiting until the date/time the announcement is made available to students. Confusing!
I think it's just a change in the label, and the underlying function and behavior is the same. (I know at our school, the "override" description confuses faculty a lot...)
In both SP5 and SP6, the email will be sent right away if you check this option, because you can't check the option if the "Display After" time is set in the future.
What I am finding, however, is that email is only sent if this checkbox is checked. I.e., it is not possible to delay the sending of email until the Display After date and time which is what I would expect to happen if the checkbox were not checked. Is this how it is suppose to work or is there something wrong with our server or configuration?
Coordinator of Web-based Technologies for Instruction
Waubonsee Community College
Sugar Grove, IL
If the instructor does not check the "Override"/"Send email immediately" checkbox when creating the announcement, then the users in the course will get email notifications according to their own individual notification settings for available announcements.
Yes. That is what I was expecting. I'm just not seeing it.
Are email notifications being sent out for other kinds of events like new content items or new tests available, if the user has their notification settings set up to get those?
© Blackboard, Inc.