I am new to Blackboard 9.1 sp3, (switched from Sakai in mid-February) so please ignore the simplistic questions. I think a brief scenario would help put context around my quesions. Recently, we had an instructor (using Sakai) retract a live test with multiple student submissions. She edited the test and reposted the test to the class. The students who took the first version had their answers blown away and were given failing grades, while the students who took the second version of the test were able to submit their test and received grades. This of course has caused a lot of confusion.
Here are my questions:
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
1) Yes, Blackboard will allow an instructor to remove a test that has been deployed and has student submissions. They will be warned that "Deleting this content item will also
delete all attempts for this Test. Retain the Grade Center item and
scores for this Test by choosing Preserve scores below. These
scores will no longer link to the Test attempts that produced the
scores. This action cannot be undone. To prevent Test attempts from
being deleted, hit Cancel below and make this content item unavailable rather than deleting it." Then they'll get the option to either preserve the scores (but not the submissions) in the grade center, or delete everything including the associated GC, column.
2) There's no good way to change a test after students have started to take it, but if the instructor does, only students who take the test after that will see the change--the submitted attempts do not change from what they were when the student took them. The instructor does have the option to view the attempt and manually award extra points for particular questions, though.
3) No, a student can't go back and re-take just one of the questions.
4) An instructor can clear an individual student's exam, and allow a specific student access to the exam even if the availability date has passed (using "Adaptive Release").
Hope that helps,
© Blackboard, Inc.