Blackboard

Requiring students to post profile pictures

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 3 Replies | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
2 Posts
Dan Kreider posted on 28 Nov 2010 1:39 AM

Hi all,

I'm new to this, and not even sure what version of Bb I am using.  I think it's not the newest one.

I teach large classes (100+), and I always try to learn the students' names over the course of the semester.  I want to require students to upload a profile picture of themselves at the beginning of the semester.  How would I do this?

I was thinking I would have them go to Tools -> Homepage and upload a picture there.  How would I view them?  Is there a way to access the roster, or download this information to a file?

Thanks!

Dan

All Replies

Top 10 Contributor
255 Posts

HI Dan,

As a first step, which does not involve any of the Blackboard versions or any other LMS, is to find out what your school's privacy and security policy of requiring students to post profile pictures of themselves. At my university, to meet FOIP (the provincial version of FERPA in the States), students cannot be required to post a profile picture of themselves in Blackboard Vista's Profile/Roster feature. It has to be an "opt-in" by the student. We often suggest putting up a picture that might represent something about the student such as a picture of favourite pet or place.