Blackboard

Weighted grades not calculated correctly

rated by 0 users
This post has 14 Replies | 0 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 0
jpaliatka Posted: 6 Dec 2006 12:00 AM
--- Server: ??(WIN) | Client: IE7.x(WIN) ---

Hello! I am new to Dr. C and I hope someone can help. I am using Blackboard 7.1.391. I have a list of 5 items for the semester and have assigned a different weight to each Item (not by Category). I have entered grades for all Items. The Total (represented by percent) column in my grade book is not calculating the correct weighted total. It is displaying the total points earned divided by total points possible but it is not accounting for the weights that I have assigned to each item.

Sound familiar to anyone or does anyone know a solution short of hand calculating all the grades? Thanks in advance!
Jen Paliatka
Not Ranked
Posts 0
Jen,

In the gradebook, you should be seeing both a "Total" column and at "Weighted Total" column. The "Total" column will do just what you see--give a simple tally of overall points. However, you should also see the "Weighted Total" column giving the correct overall weighted total, based on the item weights you've assigned. Are you not seeing that column?

Mike
Not Ranked
Posts 0
Yes, I see the "weighted total" column. However it was set to letter grade -- I think that was throwing me off completely. I now have it set to percentage instead of letter grade and it is displaying a different percentage. But under the "View Item Detail under the weighted total column, it displays 100 points possible. My total course grades are only worth 28 points possible. Is that going to throw anything off? I don't see how to change it.

Thank you for your quick and speedy response.
Jen
Top 10 Contributor
Male
Posts 709
Hi Jennifer,

I think maybe you are looking at the "Weighted" points possible which will be different then the actual points awarded because of the way the weighted calculation works.

Hopefully that helps,
Eric
Not Ranked
Posts 0