Blackboard

Deleted assignments keep showing up in gradebook

rated by 0 users
This post has 10 Replies | 1 Follower

Not Ranked
Posts 0
deepdishchad Posted: 2 Sep 2008 12:00 AM
--- Server: ?(?) | Client: IE7.x(WIN) ---

I'm a newbie, so I'm sure the answer is simple, but I'm flummoxed!

I created a handful of assignments in Blackboard Vista early on in preparing for this class I'm teaching. Now that the semester has started, it has become obvious that I need to take the class in a different direction. I went into [assignments] and deleted the assignments. I then created the new-style assignments I'm going to use inthe class.

My problem now is that the original assignments keep showing up in the gradebook and I can't seem to get rid of them. The only option I seem to have is to hide the column.

Three questions:

1. Will the offending columns still show up in the students' final grade, effectively giving them a 0/10 on as many as ten assignments?
2. Is there a way to remove the assignments from the gradebook that I just haven't found yet?
3.If I hide the column in the gradebook, will it remove the points possible from calculation as well as hide the column from view?
Not Ranked
Posts 0
Hi Chad,

Newbie questions are not only common around here at Dr.C, they're very welcome!

After deleting assignments, you can remove the column from the gradebook. Go to the "Grade Book Options" menu, select Column Settings, then check a radio button above the assignment column, and then click the Delete button at the bottom of the page. This will successfully remove the unwanted column. Now, there have been several reports of problems doing this; some people are finding that the columns will not delete, even if they do this procedure. If that's the case, report it to your local Bb administrator so they can report it to Bb Support.